Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Topsail Shark Fishing - Help!

Default Topsail Shark Fishing - Help!

Hey guys, I'm new to fishing for sharks from the surf. I read the other thread recently posted but didn't want to hijack it with a million questions. My main question, is there anyone that fishes Topsail island, and if so maybe some decent spots to try? I've been out twice and haven't hooked one yet.. I'm going out tonight but I am going to get there early and try and snag some Spots and Croakers first for fresh bait, I think my bait has been my main problem. I was told that if I couldn't catch fresh bait fish head scraps from the seafood market works well. Anyone used heads? Also, my gear isn't the greatest, what do you think is the max size shark I could land? I'm using a Penn 5500SS spinning reel, 300yards of 30lb braided. 3-4ft' of 65lb braid and then my rig, 80lb wire and 8/0 hooks. Rod is a 10ft' Star Med-Heavy action. I'm obviously casting my rig. I have a kayak but with only 300yards of line I don't see the point.

Welcome to the site rjm0827. I live on Topsail Island but never targeted sharks off the beach. Please be kind to the sharks and release all unwanted sharks. If you can try to remove any hook(s) if possible when you do get one. Some of the shark are endangered. There are really not that many sharks and that is maybe why you have not hooked into one. Most of them are only 2~4 feet.

Tim C
    B.A.S.S. Life Member (Since 1976) and a Red X Angler

Really? I've heard that the shark action is pretty great right now off the surf here. I've spoken with a few people that have landed a couple 5-6ft' lemons in the past 2 weeks. I'm releasing them all. If you don't have a highly migratory species license it's illegal to keep pretty much any shark caught here.

You can get in alot of sharks on that set up. It's that first run that will test your nerves and drag washers.