Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to NC, where to start??

Default New to NC, where to start??

Hey guys, I'm new to NC, but not saltwater fishing. I was born and raised in FL and have done plenty of fishing. I'm looking for a good place to start fishing inshore with my boys. We mainly fish on foot and use the canoe to move around a bit. Can anyone point in the right direction for some public access for wading, or canoe launch? Thanks in advance.

It would be a good idea to come to the RedX meet and greet this saturday on the Dan River. Details in the Red X forum.
    chriscyr likes this.

Red X Angler

Lake mackintosh has a launch on hwy 61 just south of 85/40. Its very canoe friendly and the fishing is decent for all species. And welcome to NC and ncangler.
    CNCBA (Central NC Bass Anglers)

Have you considered surf fishing? Easy access, lots of fish, fun for when the kids get bored not catching. ...... ICM
    chriscyr likes this.

My wife keeps saying I don't listen to her .... or something like that.

We have done a little bit of surf fishing, I do prefer fishing the back waters though. The sounds and rivers/creeks are what we're looking for.

We kayak fish the salt marshes in the Bay River ,Oriental , Pamlico River creeks(Blounts, Aurora,Campbells to name a few) . You are welcomed to come along and we will be glad to show you some hot spots. One note...there is a M&G in a Sept for the Red X Anglers and that would be a wonderful start for some great friends with a fantastic group of people!! Look on this site for the thread.
    c.lane, and chriscyr like this.

ALLEN TARHEEL FLY FLINGERS " RED X ANGLER "
    " BOWFIN ANGLER "

Quote Originally Posted by albright1695 View Post
    Lake mackintosh has a launch on hwy 61 just south of 85/40. Its very canoe friendly and the fishing is decent for all species. And welcome to NC and ncangler.
    Sorry didn't see you were looking for saltwater.OOppppssss!!
    chriscyr likes this.

CNCBA (Central NC Bass Anglers)