NC Angler Forums banner

New to NC, where to start??

3K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  Twystedweb 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to NC, but not saltwater fishing. I was born and raised in FL and have done plenty of fishing. I'm looking for a good place to start fishing inshore with my boys. We mainly fish on foot and use the canoe to move around a bit. Can anyone point in the right direction for some public access for wading, or canoe launch? Thanks in advance.

#6 ·
We kayak fish the salt marshes in the Bay River ,Oriental , Pamlico River creeks(Blounts, Aurora,Campbells to name a few) . You are welcomed to come along and we will be glad to show you some hot spots. One note...there is a M&G in a Sept for the Red X Anglers and that would be a wonderful start for some great friends with a fantastic group of people!! Look on this site for the thread.

#8 ·
Thanks tarheel, this is exactly the type of fishing that interest me. So I'm asking for a little guidance as to where I can access these types of places on foot or by canoe. Not asking for any honey holes, just some direction. We target the usual inshore species, drum, trout, and flounder. I have never seen a striper, wouldn't mind catching one of them. Any parks along the ICW that can be fished this way?

#9 ·
JMO, but I wouldn't get anywhere near the ICW in a canoe, i'd rather paddle some strong class II or mild III in a canoe than to take one on the ICW. I've had my butt kicked in a native that I had previously ran whitewater with without problem. Those barges are another story. Just want you to be safe, and that's not the safest place for a paddler. I enjoy paddling the lockwood folly and Shallotte Rivers, and several other small creeks, If you ever make it this far south shoot me a PM. Paddling and fishing the salt is a blast, just be weary of the inlets and the ICW.

#11 ·