Sound Kitty Hawk Bay?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kitty Hawk Bay?

Default Kitty Hawk Bay?

In May I'll be right next to Kitty Hawk Bay, on the East edge of Albemarle Sound, with my 'yak & gear.

Any advice on what to fish for, what to expect in that water?

Would it make sense to paddle out into Albemarle Sound, upwind/up current a while, and drift back with some shrimp (or other bait?) trolling slowly behind?

Or would it make more sense to paddle back among the islands there and fish the channels between?

I'm new to these waters and kayak fishing, so any advice would be most welcome!

Thanks!

Steve
    roostertail24 likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Just a quick look over on google maps and I would probably buy some soft plastic paddletails and 3/8th oz jigheads and work the lure all around and in the creeks of this marsh. If nothing happens around there I might drive closer to Oregon Inlet and put in somewhere around there. Probably a little saltier water closer to the inlet. Do a YouTube search for Southern Reels Oregon Inlet. He does well on the Flounder in that area. Keep in mind that can definitely be a hazardous area to fish tho. Current, boat traffic, and wind. As far as your drifting with live shrimp you might pick up some fish but my guess is you will feed the pinfish and small croakers all your bait in short order. Good luck. Hope you do well.

Sent from my SM-G930R4 using Tapatalk
    Dr Steve likes this.

Theres some good fishing in Kitty Hawk Bay. I've caught trout, puppy drum, flounder and stripers there.
    Dr Steve likes this.

5. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Some parts of that bay require a freshwater license. We stayed there one summer and there were freshwater fish around the dock, along with crabs.
    Dr Steve, and roostertail24 like this.

Quote Originally Posted by philjam View Post