New to NC and fishing

Thread: New to NC and fishing

Default New to NC and fishing

Hey everyone, Sean here. I am originally from Michigan, and have spent time in Italy, Charleston, Nashville and now outside of Asheville. I cook for a living and thats what has moved me around. I am making career changes and freeing up more time for family, my dog, and getting into hunting and fishing.

I have a basic spinning real, a box full of jigs, spinners, rubber worms....all the starting stuff. I am not afraid of live bait, but haven't fished it since I was younger. I am looking mostly to be able to catch some table fare, but also just enjoy being outside in a nice area. I live 20 min east of Asheville, I am not sure if anything beside going for a couple hour drive will get me anything I can put on the table.

I have read about eating bass, and I plan to try it during the right season. I know there is a chance to catch trout if you're lucky, crappie around, maybe if I had a boat, and same with walleye. If anyone has any basic tips on locations to try, places you're having luck or just a point in the right direction, I would appreciate it.

Thanks for having me here, looking forward to reading the posts and getting out there!

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Welcome Sean. Lots of good places up there to fish. The French Broad is a good place for smallmouth, and if you ask around I know some of our guys from up there will assist. Again, welcome!
    PS
    Eat all the crappie and trout you can eat, but please release the bass, unless they're spotted (Alabama bass) lol
    4acres likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Sears303 View Post
    I live 20 min east of Asheville, I am not sure if anything beside going for a couple hour drive will get me anything I can put on the table.

Thanks for having me here, looking forward to reading the posts and getting out there!