Attaching Rod Holders In Jon Boat

Thread: Attaching Rod Holders In Jon Boat

Question Attaching Rod Holders In Jon Boat

Ok, I'm a boating newbie. I just bought my very first boat and am looking to set it up a little so I can do some fishing with my wife. The boat is a 12' Tracker Topper jon boat. I've done some research and think I've settled on the Driftmaster rod holders, but can't seem to figure out how most people mount them and other things to the boat. It seems most people say not to drill holes in the boat, so Im not sure what I can do.

Driftmaster has a universal clamp available that I could use, but they also have other bases that attach to the boat with screws that may hold better. Does anyone have any recommendation for installing the Driftmaster rod holders in an aluminum Jon boat?

Here are the ones I'm thinking about:
    http://www.driftmaster.com/bases.html
    Clamp mount: PRO-208B
    Top inside edge mount: PRO-203B

Does anyone else have any other rod holder recommendations instead of the Driftmaster ones?

Thanks for any help!

2. Remove Advertisements

Advertisements

Default Re: Attaching Rod Holders In Jon Boat

Back in my jon boat days I mounted driftmasters to the rounded edge of my jon boat using a special driftmaster base that was made to fit on the rounded surface.

I attached the bases by drilling holes into the rail, tapping (threading the hole) and installed Machine screws. Drilling to mount rod holders shouldnt hurt anything.
    lcottrell likes this.

Take a Bass Boating!!!
    Life Jackets and Kill Switches save lives.

I've got about a dozen holes drilled in my Jon Boat... I have rod holders and a paddle holder mounted to the side, and I put wood reinforcement for mounting a transom mount trolling motor in the front.