NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Better looking half and I launched Sat. from Maple Cypress and motored over to Pitchkettle Landing. Tied up right in the turn and went to fishin. Had several strikes and 5 hookups which resulted as follows: 3 pulled off at the boat, 1 broke the line and the only 1 boated is pictured. Saw another boat catch a few so its safe to say shad are movin in! Wife was throwing dart/spoon and I fished double curly tail grubs white/yellow with pink heads. Both produced strikes.

Attachments

·
Registered
36 Posts
So I'm a newbie to NC. What's the appeal of the shad? Why will the ramps fill? How long does this generally last? The shad I'm used to talking about are often smaller in size and accidentally snagged and rarely caught intentionally except for those who use them as live bait for stripers

·
Registered
1,156 Posts
So I'm a newbie to NC. What's the appeal of the shad? Why will the ramps fill? How long does this generally last? The shad I'm used to talking about are often smaller in size and accidentally snagged and rarely caught intentionally except for those who use them as live bait for stripers
One big difference you'll notice here as compared to Glendale area is that our river beds actually have water in them. I do enjoy some of your lakes out that way. Have had a blast fishing Pleasant, Saguaro, and Bartlett. Hope you enjoy North Carolina. I think shad fishing is popular for several reasons. Wild fish that have traveled to the North Atlantic to feed and grow are returning to the rivers and creeks to spawn. The wildness of such a fishery attracts many of us, and as a harbinger of spring it represents the beginning of some great fishing to come for many species throughout the state.

·
Registered
36 Posts