NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is probably a novice question. I have limited experience with braid. I'm using Power Pro Slick 8 30 lb on a t rig rod, and love it. I'm also using Spiderwire Flouro Braid 40 lb on my bottom contact jig rod, but I'm not quite loving it. Maybe I just need to get used to the flouro braid, but it's loud and thick, in my opinion it handles like masonry string.

In my opinion the slick 8 is limper, quieter, casts better, and I just like it better. Is this the difference in 4 carrier and 8 carrier?

I want to rig up two spinning outfits with braid for reds down at the coast (30 lb?) and one for shakyhead fishing (10 lb). My gut says go with the slick 8, but since I haven't tried P-line's XTCB or Suffix 832 I figured I'd ask. What would ya'll recommend?

Do I just need to get used to the loudness of some braid in favor of some benefit that I'm overlooking, such as less dig or sink rate? I'm using mono backing and a flouro leader.

Thanks

·
Registered
284 Posts
I can't speak to 4 vs 8 carrier, but if you like one better than the other, just stick with what's working for you. I have been a Power Pro (non-slick) fan, but recently switched to the cheaper off-brand stuff and it seems to be working fine. As far as the loudness, I think you just have to get used to that (it sounds great when you have a big fish on).

For your redfish spinning outfits, it's somewhat personal preference but unless you're targeting the really big drum 30 lb is a bit heavy and will hurt your casting distance. I have 10 and 15 lb on mine. Good luck

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
As far as cheap braids go, I caught 10-15 mid to overslot reds on ten lb spiderwire braid but it already looks worse and more worn out then 3 yo power pro. If you don't fish it too often it'd fine but next time I'll buy pp

·
Registered
236 Posts