NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am completely new to saltwater fly fishing and need some help. I have been fly fishing for trout for the past year but want to venture into saltwater. I posted in the previous Sunset Beach thread, as that is where i will be staying in late July, but feel i need a new thread with advice for a beginner. First off, I plan on buying a cheap 8 wt rod, probably an ll bean quest or some cabelas rod. Second, I will NOT have access to a boat but I will have access to a car so i can drive to other locations. The area around sunset beach and ocean isle (its about 40 min north of myrtle i think) has a nice bay with marshes running behind it that i may fish as well as the surf. Also, i can fish off the dock in back of our house into the bay. So, what do i need to know when i go out there and what can i expect to catch? What flies should i purchase? And just anything else you can think of to help me out. Thanks a bunch for any advice.

Chris

·
Registered
3,834 Posts
There's a few go to flies that I would recommend that you pick up. Lefty's Deceivers or Seaducers are great patterns just about anytime. These patterns work great if fishing shallow around oyster bar when you don't want to get hung upon the bottom. Then some Clouser Minnons when you want to get deeper. There are some nice Flounder holes around Ocean Isle. Also, I would add some shrimp and crab patterns.

You could fish in the creek that's on the south side of the bridge for Redfish and there's an creek that you can access from the north end of the island.

·
Registered
2,766 Posts