NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:D I'm tryin to learn to flip a bait cast.
Just havin a little trouble with it.
I know practice has a lot to do with it,
but any tips would be appreciated.
I knew I was gonna have a hard time when the first
thing I did this morning was backlash a roll of paper towels!:D

·
Registered
2,766 Posts
Hookeye, I'm by no means an expert at flipping but I can get it done so to speak. One of the things that helped me most was to get a left handed reel. The idea behind flipping is to be able to make a precise presentation that enters the water as softly as possible. Done right the lures entry will be mistaken for a bug or other morsel falling into the water from the cover above. This automatically triggers a feeding instinct. Many times the strike will occur while the angler is swapping the rod and reel from his left hand to his right hand. Sometimes the strike will go unnoticed during the swap. By learning to use a left handed reel you never have this distraction. You are ready to set the hook as soon as the lure lands. You never loose contact with the lure and you can be making things happen while your buddy is still fumbling with his reel.