NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I just started getting back into fishing since I was kid....20 year hiatus. I'm relatively new to the Triangle (live in Raleigh) and was wondering where some good bank fishing is at here in Raleigh. Don't have a boat, so casting off shore is my options right now. I checked out Lake Johnson last weekend and had no luck. I've heard Falls Lake and Lake Wheeler are pretty good, just not sure where to check out in those areas. Any help would be great. Thanks!

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Google maps and lots of riding backroads. There are a few place around falls you can go. New Light rd, Old Weaver rd, there is a small pier in the Hwy 50 park/launch but the gate is closed early morning and late evenings when fishing is best. You can fish at the dam as well. There are more, so others will chime in. Welcome to the site.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks man. Yeah I grabbed a falls lake map from the Hwy 50 info area and checked out a bunch of spots. Not to crazy about the Public fishing areas on six forks and the one on 98. Tried both multiple times no luck. Old Weaver trail looked promising. Surprisingly, the most luck I have had is at Lake Lynn, which is right across the street from me. Caught 6 Crappies in 50 minutes starting around 630pm.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,416 Posts
Thanks man. Yeah I grabbed a falls lake map from the Hwy 50 info area and checked out a bunch of spots. Not to crazy about the Public fishing areas on six forks and the one on 98. Tried both multiple times no luck. Old Weaver trail looked promising. Surprisingly, the most luck I have had is at Lake Lynn, which is right across the street from me. Caught 6 Crappies in 50 minutes starting around 630pm.