NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Boat Types

I am a new resident to Southern NC coast - Southport/Lockwood Folly,Intercostal waterway. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what type of boat is best for these waters.

I will be a first time owner so I want to stay around 17/19ft.

Have ruled out the Carolina Skiff for a smoother ride V-bottom. Looking at Sea Pro - Sea Fox and Sea Boss. Any information would be helpful. Is bay boat or center console any different. Appreciate your feedback

·
Premium Member
8,195 Posts
Hi Jhoffman and welcome to the site! There are obviously a number of great boats to choose from depending on what you're specifically looking for and how much you can spend. I bought my first boat a little over two years ago and decided to buy a Triumph. They are manufactured in Durham, NC and are made of Roplene through a computerized rotomould system using an extremely high grade of polythylene (plastic) that and is much tougher than fiberglass. You can run these boats into docks without fear of having to repair fiberglass. The manufacturing process has no styrene emissions and is recyclable so it is good for the environment. It also absorbs shock resulting in a smooth and quiet ride. I like mine so much that I started a website for Triumph owners (www.triumphowners.org) and am about to buy the 2006 215 model, so my 2003 210 is currently for sale in the classifieds section of the site. They have a 190 bay boat that is great too. If you're going offshore much I'd stick with the 210 or new 215. The boats are very easy to clean up with no waxing necessary.