NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went to a boat show this weekend in Northern Virginia..
They had a HOBIE booth set up... I was impressed, of course I don't know jack about Kayak's.

I was wondering what Kayaker think of their products..especially the pedal system.. I was really thinking of buying the complete package that they called "The mirage adventure island".. It look like it was capable for all types of activities,,,fishing, sailing, and look like a lot of fun... I am not experienced with Kayaks and this looked like a stable platform that I could fish off of until I got better and then could remove the outriggers...

Thanks in advance for the feedback:)

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts
From this kayaker's perspective, the Hobies are very well built boats and the mirage drive is amazing technology. Just pricey. There are some pics out here somewhere of Kayakingglenn in his Adventure Island. If you're really just looking for stability you can get it in lots of different ways that don't include the outriggers (amas). But to sail, pedal, paddle, fish, play, etc... the AI is the ticket.

·
Registered
183 Posts
For ponds, lakes and saltwater I don't think you will beat a Hobie with the pedal drive system. Most of their other boats don't look to bad either. One thing you can say about them is that they have made a concerted effort to be fisherman friendly in their designs.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I just bought a mirage revolution and a sport a couple weeks ago after looking at them for a year.
Had them out 3 times so far and Love mine. Yes pricey but worth the money to me. It is REALLY nice to be able to choose to paddle or peddle especially when the water is cold. I always hated getting all wet from paddle drip when it is cold out and the water is freezing. Plus hands free operation is awesome.