NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When fly fishing for carp, do you strip, twitch or just let the fly be? I have caught my share of bass, catfish and bream and always see carp swimming near or by me with no luck.

I have noticed that when they are swimming by they will turn on their side, scrubbing the bottom as if they are feeding. I could be wrong though.

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
307 Posts
I've been chasing carp for a while and have read, listened to, and watched a ton of material on it. That said, I've only hooked up with one, so I'm no expert.

A couple of things:
1. You have to pick your target. Free swimming carp are not usually feeding and should probably be ignored. You're looking for carp with their nose on the bottom, vacuuming up food. The experts I've listened to say that your chances of enticing a swimming carp are less than 5%.

2. You want to cast in front of the fish and do what they call the "drag and drop". Basically, cast far enough away that you don't spook the fish by splashing a fly right on top of him, but not so far that you spook him with your line either. Then strip the fly in until it's in an area the size of a dinner plate directly in front of the fish, in its path of movement. Then just leave the fly and wait for him to move in and suck it up. Strip set and hold on!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
Find them tailing...they will be feeding...in the shallows with tail slightly out of the water...this is your best chance...sneak up...and I mean Sneak...then cast behind the fish...using a slow sinking fly....like a wooly booger...U want to drop the fly right behind the carps eye...then...jerk it when it hits bottom...many times they will suck it down...Be patient....Catching a Carp on the fly is hard...that's why most haven't done it...

·
Registered
1,326 Posts