NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought we could share cut bait tricks that we have. I'm new to catfishing and caught my first channel on cut bait yesterday. Must say it was fun. Maybe it was just me, but the cats seem to strike the bait harder.

I was using blue gill cut in strips and used the head too. Has anyone ever heard of XXX Blood Bait? I've never heard of using a dip on cut bait.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Your on the right track, bream heads work awesome, I normally cut them from behind the head at a angle to behind the vent so you retain the entrails in 1 bait, then hook through the bottom of the jaw and come out between the eyes, catfish candy for sure

·
Registered
3,406 Posts
Best advise I can give you on cutbait is GARLIC SPRAY. not powder, some guys like powder and its ok for freezing cutbait but Garlic spray is the ticket. My taxidermist told me about this 20 plus years ago and if you are using straight cutbait and your partner is using the same cutbait with the spray you will get outfished. good ones are Bang garlic spray and jacks juice.

http://mackinncblog.blogspot.com/2013/07/garlic-for-catfishing.html

·
Registered
149 Posts

No complaints with cut bait and garlic powder. Friday I was getting bit as fast as I could get a bait in the water. A couple times I would get a fish in, get it on the fish grips and unhooked and if the bait was still on sling it back out and have another fish on before I got the first on the stringer.

Tried chicken livers a couple times and just had a whole bunch of bluegill clean my hooks off for me.

·
Registered
408 Posts
Right now the blues and flatheads are going after live bait, like whiteperch. Yesterday I got about 10 blues and 12 flatheads biggest at 30lbs. it's been rocking and rolling out there lalty. Been having ther best luck 2 hrs before dark.

·
Registered
3,406 Posts