NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

Like I've said before, I'm very new to fishing. I've been fishing all of 3 times so far in my life.... Well, I guess third time's the charm!

Caught this fish this afternoon, I was fishing a small pond across the street from where I work (between Kernersville and Wallburg). It's right next to the road, but fairly quiet.

Anyway, this was the first time I fished that pond (I walked over after I got off work around 5, or really even looked at it. It had a lot of plants and Lilly pads around the shore, along with a few submerged trees; from what I've read it seemed like a good pond for fish to hide out in. I spent about an hour and a half fishing along various spots on the shore with a baby brush hog on a Carolina rig without much luck (mostly getting hung up in Lilly pads and branches).

Near the end of my "session" I noticed some fish "blowing up" some spots a little ways down the bank from me and a big grouping of "air bubbles" that seemed to be moving around in front of me (I think this indicates a fish maybe?) so I switched to a $1 chartreuse buzzbait I bought at Walmart and cast towards the bubbles. My line drapped over an overhanging branch after I cast, but the lure made it in the water. I started reeling it in and shaking a little to get off the branch and WHAM, I feel my line go real tight. I start pulling in the fish and actually have him suspended over the water with my line on the branch for a few seconds before the branch snaps and I finish reeling in the fish.

It was so exciting! I might have shouted out a few expletives in celebration hahaha.

Sorry for the long post guys, just SO excited and proud of my 1st catch! I think it's a small mouth bass, but my buddy said it looks like a hybrid or large mouth to him. He said something about it having to do with where the mouth ends in relation to the eye? Can anyone explain?