NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to using a lot of hardbaits, crankbaits etc. I know it's best to upgrade hooks on mirrolures , rattle traps etc but I don't know what to buy etc. I thought this post might help a lot of us so lets here it!
***In my case we are talking inshore salt species.

·
Registered
138 Posts
I like the Owner Stinger trebles. They're pricey, but they are really great hooks. I rinse them after each trip and don't have corrosion issues.

Reactions: RouseD

·
Registered
6,382 Posts
Nothing at all wrong with factory mirrolure hooks. They are already 4x strong hooks. Once they get rusted and bent out of shape replace them with VMC 4x strong hooks. 17's use a number 6 and 52's use a number 4.

For other baits it is critical to match the hook to the bait especially on suspending baits as you will quickly mess up their action. A good example is the yozuri 3ds minnow. The factory hooks on it are garbage. I replace them with a gamagatsu 2x strong hook. Topwater lures other than mirrolures get new hooks if their intent is for redfish. On those I like the VMC 4x strong hooks. Number 2 on back and number 4 up front.

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
Does anyone have a good hook to put on the gotcha 1/2 ounce jig fish lures? The blues were biting mine in half last weekeend.

·
Registered
6,382 Posts

·
Registered
6,382 Posts

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Just the kind of info Im looking for thanks guys. And what about split rings?

·
Registered
81 Posts
Get the oval kind of split rings. If you use braid or even small diameter mono it has a tendency to split through the eye of of circle split ring. An oval split ring ensures that the line always stays at the top of the ring.

I am assuming your talking about adding a split ring to the nose of the bait. If you're talking about adding split rings to the hooks then a circle ring will do fine.

·
Registered
1,030 Posts