NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a pay to fish pond in Four Oaks I have fished a few times with very little success. I am thinking about taking the canoe out there for the first time today and maybe again next week. I am looking to target crappie. One end of the pond is a rock dam and it is pretty deep. Only ever fished from the bank so I am not sure how deep. No electronics so I will have to find structure by trial and error. Any advice for targeting crappie this time of year? I usually only crappie fish in creeks near bridges and stumps so this is my first time targeting them in open water. I will be using artificial baits and fishing mid day when it warms up a little bit. Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
I would slow troll a couple of crappie jigs, one barely off the bottom, one about half way up parallel to the dam. First couple of passes you will need to stop and drop the deep one every now and then to see if the depth is consistent or not. Once you find them, drift and jig in that area or anchor if it is windy.

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've always wondered how the hook sets work on trolling like that? Do i need to make a quick grab for the rod or do they set themselves? I appreciate the help. how far off of the dam do you think I should stay?

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
Some of each on the hooksets when really slow trolling, IME. A lot of times I really am drifting and jigging but call it slow trolling because I am moving. I don't know the pond, but a lot of them have the drain at the deepest point, usually only a few yards out from the dam and it is often about the same depth that far from the dam for most of its length. That is pretty standard on man made ponds but certainly not universal. I would try the deepest part first. Most smallish lakes aren't great slab lakes IME.

·
Registered
359 Posts