NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this message board. Just moved to Currituck and looking for fishing advice. Where to fish, what fish are there, how to catch, (live bait, cutbait, plugs, etc.) I have a boat, (20' Privateer) and willing to go with others or have others go with me. Any and all advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Crabdaddy

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
hey crabdaddy, so were you living in currituck, i am from wanchese which is about 45 minutes to currituck. not really sure about up there but your really not to far from the beach. best advice i can give you for up there is there are a couple of tackle shops up your way. if you know were the currituck high school is there is one shop almost across the street from it. they should be able to help you out. i think there is another one a little farther north on the right hand side. but that is about all i can help you with there. if you ever make it around nags head. i can helpl

·
Registered
2,766 Posts
Crabdaddy, Nice screen name! Currituck is a tough nut to crack because it can change dramatically in just a few hours. The saltwater and freshwater boundries shift and change according to the wind and rainfall. For years it was one of the nations prime largemouth fisheries and along came a drought and a wind tide that flooded Currituck and lower Back Bay with saltwater and the largemouth fishery was pretty poor after that.
I released 3 8lb+ bass for a guy who fished that flood up in Back Bay. He said that he had caught more big bass that day than all combined up until that day. I asked him where he was fishing and he said most of them came from around the edges of peoples yards. Sorta like tossing to a weedy shoreline. Lots of homes were totally underwater. That took place around 1980.