NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to fishing in populated areas and I need to know what is the proper etiquette for fishing behind peoples homes and around docks. I always feel funny if I am getting anywhere near someones home or docks. I feel like I am invading someones privacy even though the water is public domain. Am I right to feel this way or am I being silly.......Are there "rules' for this?
I really want to fish the dock structures/grass lines but I feel like I am trespassing....:confused:

·
Registered
2,766 Posts
If someone is on or near it I always give them their space but otherwise it is just a place for the fish to hide from the sun. As long as I can fish it without snagging dock lines or endangering boats and such It is fair game. The dock and anything attached to it should be respected as private property and risky manuevering and casting shouldn't be attempted. Keep your eyes peeled for crab traps and such attached with lighter lines.

·
Registered
3,855 Posts
Stick and move... definately do not get on the dock/seawall, be polite and acknowledge the home owner(s) if they're out, and read body language... if they appear agitated,, probably move down to the next dock/pilings..ect... Usually not a problem, but you can always catch someone in a bad mood on the wrong day.. otherwise.. keep on fishin unless someone starts to give you grief and if you hook the dock/boat lift/boat house ect... I'd probably just chalk it up to a loss instead of messing around trying to free it... folks get a little concerned quick if they see you messing around their stuff even if it's innocent.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's kinda how I figured it was. You should expect a little traffic if you live on the water... I'd never touch anything and I'd cut my line before I even tugged a rope or trap.
Thanks gang!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
3,834 Posts