NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to kayaking, specially in salt water. I don't see any conversation about having to fight the tide. Is the tide in NC not that much of a problem. Also, I have a Tarpon120, would a rudder help me enjoy fishing?

Thanks,
Paul

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts
I'm a relative beginner in the salt too. My perspective is that a lot of our launches are conducive to paddling either tide - you've got the option to follow the tide if you want to and you'll still find fishable water.

Tide is a factor - they do talk about it a lot at the Fort Fisher area. They seem to want the outgoing to launch and work your way down the jetties and islands, then let the incoming bring you back to the ramp. I haven't fished that area yet so I'm not sure how the paddling is if you catch the tides wrong.

The worst tide I've fought was out of Taylor's Creek in Beaufort. Had to get up & around Carrot Island to fish the back side and it was a job. I made it, but it never put the paddle down until I got around the corner and out of the rush.

I say yes to the rudder. Improves distance paddling efficiency and allows for less path adjustment while fishing a drift with wind or current.

·
Registered
5,114 Posts
Tidal flow is going to be relative to how close you are to an inlet and how large of expanse of water you are in. In general the closer to the inlet the greater the flow and the narrower the water body the greater the flow. Also the depth of water will have an effect. Some tide charts will give you the change in water depth at high and low tide. The greater the difference between the two the greater the tidal flow. To complicate things more the moon phase will affect the heighth of hgh and low tide. In some places like the Neuse there is little noticable tidal difference, there it is wind driven.

·
Registered
359 Posts