NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello NC, I'm a new part time resident on Lake Apalachia. I do not not see any posts since April of 2012 about fishing on this lake. I would like to learn the best helpful hints or methods to catch any species of fish. Would love to catch large or small mouth bass but I'm happy to catch anything. I'll be there for two weeks later this month so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Tom

·
Premium Member
8,195 Posts
Welcome aboard. Glad you've joined us! :cool: I'm not familiar with Lake Apalachia but I've added it to the title of your thread so hopefully someone who is can respond.

·
Red X Angler
1,060 Posts
Welcome aboard Tom and thanks for joining us. I feel certain that someone will respond to your info request.

·
Registered
442 Posts
Lake Apalachia Fishing

Cherokee County NC is home to several trout waters. It appears that Lake Apalachia will likely join the list of trout fisheries in 2015. Lake Apalachia is more than 1,000 acres of water and 31 miles of waterfront. The lake is in a 3 year test trial to see if the lake can be considered designated trout waters. The lake already is home to a variety of fish including smallmouth bass, redbreast sunfish and white bass. Trout can soon be added to the list.NC first stocked the lake with trout in December 2012 and again in December 2013. So far the data gathered has been impressive in the numbers and growth. Wildlife Resources claim that withing 6 months fish that were 10-12 inches grew to 18 inches. There have been trout that are 21 inches and weigh 4 pounds. The reason for the rapid growth is that there is a large number of blueback herring in the lake and they provide the trout with a steady diet.