NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Made my 4th trip to Fontana...one guided and 3 unguided. I think this lake is beautiful but I'm going to find a lake with fish in it...Fontana just doesn't produce results compared to the effort...including when guided. The only thing we didn't use were hand grenades and I caught two walleye fishing for smallies...saw more snakes than fish. Hope you guys that fish it with some regularity get your time/monies worth.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That lake is chock full of spotted bass

What do they eat? They don't like jerk baits, worms and wackies, flukes, squirrel head jigs, jig/grub, crankbaits, tubes, or anything else we showed them. Also if you look at the last TVA survey...Fontana is down the list....not trying to argue anything but I've been fishing for 50 years and I've only run into water like this a couple of times. Might be diff if you fished it everyday but for the occasional visitor there surely are better lakes.

·
Registered
2,778 Posts
Never fished there but you haven't Carolina rigged a speedcraw. I would lay a 20 says that's the only bait I threw all day and I would catch fish. Not trying to sound like a smart elick but if what yer throwin ain't catchin then chuck somethin else and if that don't work chuck a speedcraw.

Gene - RED >X< - Asheboro

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Never fished there but you haven't Carolina rigged a speedcraw. I would lay a 20 says that's the only bait I threw all day and I would catch fish. Not trying to sound like a smart elick but if what yer throwin ain't catchin then chuck somethin else and if that don't work chuck a speedcraw.

I don't take it as a smart aleck...but they didn't bite a craw either.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
You know the saying "90% of the fish are in 10% of the water"? Fontana is more like 99% of the fish in 1% of the water.