NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've kayaked a small amount in lakes and some of the intercoastal. When I say small amount I mean like 10 times. 8 times in a lake and once or twice on the intercoastal. I'm new to fishing out of the yak and basically a novice when it comes to doing it in the salt. I was wondering if someone could recommend great places to build my skills up that are good for beginners. From what I've read "the basin" seems like a good place to start. I was also wondering about the backside of Topsail. That place looks pretty safe from a newbie's eye as long as you stay clear of the inlet. I've seen the water rip during a outgoing tide like a class 5 river.

I'd love any advice someone can give. If anyone would like to fish together I'd be game for that too. I pretty much release all I catch because I don't really like the taste of fish. I'd be happy to let anyone have what I catch.

·
Registered
6,427 Posts
If by "the basin" you are referring to the turning basin in Morehead that's absolutely not a good place to start out. It's not even all that great for an advanced kayaker simply because of all the boat traffic and the strong currents that run through. Pick a town and hit the marsh. That's about as safe as it gets. I was new to kayaks a year ago. I put it in the water at the coast and started paddling. Five minutes into the first trip it felt like I had been doing it all of my life. If you're uneasy about it go with a buddy and wear a PFD and you will be fine. Good luck and be sure to post a report.

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
If you really just want to get some experience on the water put in at Taylor's Creek and paddle over to Carrot island. It's easily doable by yourself and you can drag your kayak if necessary. I wouldn't venture into the turning basin in a kayak. Not saying you can't but that area is extremely busy with large ships pushing wakes.

·
Registered
530 Posts