NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Helol anglers,
I'm new to catching fish in the surf. I was wondering if my setup will bee good for my target species. I have a10 foot offshore angler power stick from bass pro and looking to get a penn battle. Does anyone recommend a reel size for the penn battle? Line type? My intent with the rod was something I could throw lures on and haul a good amount of lead out too. I'm trying g to catch bluefish, big reds, and shark. Striper too if I can. I'm in camp lejeune so I'll be fishing onslow beach alot. Can I take my 10ft rod to other places nearby or do I need lighter or heavier tackle?

·
Registered
5,073 Posts
If you are going to use braid or other "superline" then either the 2000 or 3000 will work. If you want a balanced set up then the 3000 or 4000 would balance better. Contrary to what you might have heard long "Hatteras heavers" are not necessary to catch fish in the surf. More fish are caught in the first 30 yards then 300 yards out. These fish would be speckled trout, red drum, black drum, sea mullet, pompano among others. For large sharks yes you will need long casts or even need to kayak out the bait. As to striper in the surf, not going to happen off Onslow Beach. You will need to go to Hatteras/Avon/Duck for that and get lucky.

·
Registered
851 Posts
And as mentioned on the other thread, no one setup will work. Far as sharks, they swim right at your feet as well. Can toss a noggin or steak underhand in the surf during the summer months and get all the black tips, sand sharks you can stand, size varies.

·
Registered
2,852 Posts