NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What time of the year? And what area has the best Headboat fishing? We are thinking of going in Oct. Aound trhe 12th. Do you always catch fish or is it likely to come up empty on one of these trips?

·
Registered
17,131 Posts
I think you can just about count on catching fish from a headboat. October is a great time to fish. There are headboats near about every major inlet in NC but your widest selection is going to be in Morehead/Beaufort. It's also the shortest boat ride to the deep water bottom fishing areas.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts

·
Registered
1,728 Posts

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
I've never done the 18-24 hr trip sounds like fun!

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
The Carolina Princess is a top notch operation for sure. I have been doing the overnight trips with them for several years. You don't have to but I bring my own tackle and do all my own rigging. Usually a heavy action rod for grouper, medium heavy for smaller fish such as B-liners and a 6.5' - 7' medium heavy for light lining. My rods are outfitted with Penn 330 GTs and Mitchell 600 series and Tidewater reels. Sometimes I bring along an 80 size spinning rod/reel if I think the Mahi will be schooling up around the boat.

Reactions: sundrop

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
I ALWAYS grab the back of the boat on either corner.... I think it gives the best defense against tangling in others lines and you get a wide area to fish because you get a bit of side and rear....

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
On the Carolina Princess the spots are assigned according to when you make your reservation. They have a very good system to eliminate arguing over spots. They call out the names according to the reservation list and hand you a ribbon. You tie the ribbon on the railing at the spot you want to fish and once the ribbon is tied on no one can take that spot.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts