NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I as the name says I am a coach (football) in the fayetteville area. Have just started getting back into fishing after a long hiatus (since 94). Was my grandfather's and my special time together and took me a long time to get back out. Went out once and have recaught the fire. I have a jon boat that is not ready for the water yet and was hoping for some advice and possible locations for shore fishing until I get the boat water worthy. (Boat was grandpas, not been in the water since before he died.) Thanks in advance.

Coach D

·
Registered
4,810 Posts
Morning, Coach, welcome aboard!
Glad to hear you've been bitten again by the ol' fishing bug. It got me last year. I think you'll find this a comfortable and helpful place to do your e-fishing.

Some of the textbook answers for finding shore-fishing opportunities:
  • Go to NCWildlife.org and look up Public Fishing Areas. These are free public-access areas, specifically intended for fishing. Some are just gravel parking spots near a bank, others have docks and other facilities, depends on the spot.
  • The Community Fishing Program (I think?) is closely related to the PFA program, NCWildlife stocks local ponds and even makes loaner tackle available, especially ot encourage kids to fish.
  • Some folks like to use GoogleEarth to look for ponds, then take the location back to the Registrar of Deeds to see who's responsible for the land, then place a cold phone call.
  • From what I read, if you're interested in fishing on military property, you'll probably need special permission from the base commander's office.
Good luck, and welcome to the NC angler community!
Lefty

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for info

Thanks for the info. :)

Anyone know anything about the pond at Mazarick Park? Just saw it on the webpage for Parks and Rec, lived here 17 years and have never heard of it.