NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,

I'm new to NC Angler and I'm a crappie enthusiast who knows a little about crappie fishing but not a whole lot. Does that make sense? How can I say I'm a crappie enthusiast who doesn't know "a whole lot" about it? Sort of contradictory, huh? I grew up fishing Ky Lake and went back there last year with a guide and brought back a cooler full. I live in Waynesville, NC and I can't find anyone who fishes or even guides for crappie on the lakes here in the mountains. I'm most intersted in Fontana where I'm told there are a lot of crappie, nobody is fishing for them, but they are hard to find and hard to catch because the lake is so deep and the water level is always fluctuating so much...................messing with the spawn, etc. Any thoughts?

Rob

·
Registered
2,766 Posts
Re: Hello!

Check the regulations on the lake before hand but building a series of crappie beds at different depths usually affords you some pinpoint locations to fish where you know where to fish when they are at a certain depth. As the water level changes, the depth to the bed will also change. A lot of newspapers post the local lake water levels at least weekly but if you have a depthfinder you can always check a certain lake bottom feature to get the most accurate depth above your beds.

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts

JDHD - and we just thought you were extra-enthusiastic about sinker-man's crappie bed suggestion! I recommend the first part of sinker-man's suggestion
Check the regulations on the lake before hand
be applied to any "alternative" solution, especially one using non-traditional tackle (ie. boom sticks, crank telephones, car batteries, tasers, or whatever else you might have on hand. Sounds like JDHD may have more of that on hand than the rest of us).