NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I'm pretty particular about my bass gear and I'm just beginning to get my big catfish gear sorted out but I've always wanted good salt gear for pier and surf but I don't have a clue so I don't buy anything.

I grew up when everyone had 12 foot fiberglass rods and Penn green spinning reels and 17 or 20 pound mono to throw 4 once sinkers for everything. I know things are more specialized and better now so if I could have three rigs to do everything at the coast from the beach or pier what three rigs would you put together with what line and for what use?

Note
No shark rigs and doubt I would ever have the time to sit all day waiting on a king or at least I would not want gear special just for kings. I mostly would fish spring and fall surf and summer pier on vacation. If there's a way to make something work for behind the beach for reds and trout that my bass tackle would not be good for I want to know that too.

·
Registered
3,441 Posts
Your Zebco 202's and 404's are not gonna wk too good on a pier......they dont have stainless parts

If i only had 1 outfit i would get a Shimano 4500 Baitrunner on an 8-9 ft rod that way it could also be used in the surf....

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
If fishing the surf and pier the coffee grinder is still a great reel, new or used same parts. Go for the 706 and you will have no regrets. The 704 always had a problem with the bail closing & you can't do it manually. After about five outings the bailless will come natural to you.

·
Registered
502 Posts
Outer banks like Portsmouth north? I'm asking because the currents and surf are bigger up there than the Atlantic beach area and south. I like to fish with lighter tackle to not wear me out so bad, but you typically need heavier stuff the further north you go up the coast.

Not trying to make this too complicated, just want to give you the best answer I can

·
Registered
2,322 Posts