NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone give me some advice on how to fish for crappie? I was out yak fishing on lake wheeler this past weekend and didn't catch a thing, not even a bite. Not that I was fishing for crappie I was just out fishing, and testing out the new kayak.

When I came in for the day I notice a guy with a bucket full of a crappie, probably about 15 or so but I never got a chance to talk to him before he left.

I was wondering what is the best way to setup up my rod for crappie fishing.

Any help would be great.

Thanks.

·
Registered
5,795 Posts
when I Fish For Crappies I Use A Road Runner In Different Colors, If One Dont Work Switch Colors . Live Minows Work Well Also. I Dont Do It But I See Guys Spider Fishing, Using FoUR To Five Poles At A Time. Chris

·
Registered
840 Posts
I'm still learning to fish crappie myself. I usually use about 4-6 lb mono with minnows and a slip cork, along with a small hook (#6 i think) when I crappie fish. I'll set my cork depending on the water temps and what depths I hear of people catching them at. I've got a co worker here who loves to crappie fish and I'll get a few bits of advice from him before I head out.

Seems to work since bankandsurf and I won the Falls Lake staff crappie tournament last year.

·
Registered
3,834 Posts