NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody,

I have recently been contemplating getting a kayak. Up to now I always have fished on the bank since I don't have any way to be out on the water. But as I get more into this great activity I want more and more to be out on the water. However, being a college student, I don't want a kayak that's going to be top of the line. Ideally, I'd prefer something below $500 that only needs to last me 3 or 4 years that I can fish in. Even used would be ok with me, but here's where I need advice.

Firstly, after taking a glance at kayaks I know how expensive they can be. Are there any yaks that would fit what I'm looking to do for under $500, or is that unrealistic? Second, would you advise buying a used kayak if that was an option? What kind of things should I ask about in a used craft? Lastly, should I be looking at a specific couple of brands and what sort of accessories would be necessary?

Sorry for the lengthy blurb there but I'm a total freshman to all this stuff. Just thinking how nice it'd be to be out on these lakes I'm fishing and figured who better to ask than y'all!? I know we've got plenty of knowledgable yak anglers on here so hopefully you can give me some insight. Thanks so much for the help!

-Matt

·
Red X Angler
7,806 Posts
You're going to receive a pile of answers here. I've recommended the yak I have a million times. Perception Pescador 12....love it. I wouldn't recommend it if it didn't do all of what I need it to do. Shop around for the best price....

·
Registered
3,507 Posts
Good advice above. Dicks sells a kayak called a Field&Stream Talon12. Its a sit on top 12 footer that looks like a good bang for the buck. Several on here have and like them.

·
Registered
164 Posts