NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I am new to a bass boat. I was talking with some friends and one pointed out that my cavitation plate is about a inch above my chines. My questions is that is it worth spending $500 on a jack plate? Is my performance going to differ that much???

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
A lot depends on your setup as to whether a jack plate will be beneficial or not. The boat must be able to have the right weight balance with the engine set further back. Boats designed for a 2 stroke engine and using a 4 stroke might not balance great and a jack plate will just make it worse. Bass boats typically are less sensitive to this than center consoles.

Best bet is to look on some other forums and try to find someone with a similar setup using a jack plate, try to contact them and find out how it performs, or if a dealer has experience with a similar set up.

A jack plate can help dial in the best engine height, which may be different depending upon water conditions and helps the engine run in less disturbed water. Usually not night and day differences, but can make noticeable differences.

Reactions: NCPIERMAN

·
Registered
5,114 Posts
OK, never heard anyone describe motor height in relation to the chines but your cavitation plate should IMO be 1/2" to 1" above the lowest point of the transom when mounted at it's lowest position. From this position adjustments can be made upward if needed. You have failed to mention how the boat rides. You seem to be concerned because a friend made a comment. If the boat rides fine where the motor is...who cares what your friend thinks.

·
Registered
5,580 Posts