NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

This is my first posting, please, advice on where are some HOT spots for on - shore fishing Jodran Lake and/or Falls Lake areas. I live in Raleigh, NC.

I care for catfish , but would not mind anything that comes along...

Also, I am very new to the fishing, and want to learn more about it : all advices are welcome and greatly appreciated!!

I hope to get some info ASAP - don't want the "fishing " season to be over with ... LOL...

PS. I have an elder family member with me that likes to fish - that is why I am looking for the on-shore spots.

Thanks.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
First of all Nutty, welcome to the party!!! I havent fished Jordan but some basic info applies to all bodies of fresh water and I do love to catch Catfish.
To start very simple, bottom fishing is best. A basic 2 hok bottom rig is good to start with. Use as little weight as possible to keep it on the bottom. In a lake like Jordan I'd say in most places 1 oz is plenty with nightcrawlers, chicken livers, cut bream/perch, live/dead minnows and even good clean fresh shrimp (yes it works great in fresh water too) for bait but you may use 2-3 oz for deeper or moving water or to get the maximum cast distance if your trying to reach a deep channel from shore. Use the teardrop shaped sinkers for less hangups on the bottom.
I like a #2 or as large as a 2/0 size Aberdeen hook (the gold ones that look like fine wire) They hold well but if you get hung up on the hook tip and pull slowly you can often bend the hook and set the rig free. Then you can just straighten the hook, or replace it but always make sure it is good and sharp! I have use treble hooks also but they hang up worse.