NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a few "noodles" that Walmart had made up for jug fishing. I have never tried it and was wondering when the best time to start fishing with jugs is. I was planning on trying Badin or High Rock with fresh cut bream or shad and I have the jug lines set at 8', 12', and 16'. Any advice is greatly appreciated as I have never tried this before. Saw a guy on Badin last year fishing with jugs and it looked like fun. He had about 100 out.
Mike

Take a kid outdoors!

·
Registered
5,798 Posts
Juggin is fun. Fun to chase a 10 lb carp hooked to one. You will get a bath in a kayak. We let them go of course. Sounds like you got the right idea. Noodles are the best for wrapping up and hooking the hook in it for carrying. Nothing is more buoyant than a 2 liter though. You might have some noodles dissapear if a 20 lb cat grabs it. Sometimes when we go out in the a.m. we find those "missing jugs" from somebody the night before. I use 2 liters and only a ounce sinker. I put a 50 lb braid leader on it and I can put the egg inside and put the cap on it for transport. With a bottle you just pour some flourescent paint in it and shake for the paint job. Have fun and good luck.------stu

·
Registered
4,435 Posts
You are now (or going to be July 1st) limited to 70 jugs per boat.

Just remember in NC you cannot bait w/live bait.

I have a video of jug fishing in TN and the host uses live minnows and a few small bluegill sunfish.

Man did he catch the drum and channel cats!

Good luck.

·
Registered
17,058 Posts
we use to take and put the plastic chemical lights into the clear 2 liter drink bottles. That made it easy to see and chase at night. The bottles that are sitting still leave alone, that one bobbing and rocking is the one to chase. :cool: