NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping you guys will offer some advice. I am brand new to the world of boating and recently bought a 20' cuddy cabin for some fishing in Cape Hatteras. I've been surf and pier fishing those waters for years but now will try my hand from the boat, (due to the beach closures and to give us some elbow room) My plans are to fish the sound and within a few miles of the beach on calm days and am hoping you guys will point me in the right direction of how to get started.

I plan to bottom fish and troll, most of our trips down there are in the summer months, this year particularly in the middle of June.

Thanks,
Chris

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
For starters you are going to need you have the right gear. I am not extremely familiar with that area but you will probably need some trolling rods if you plan on trolling. Spanish and bluefish will probably be plentiful in the area so start trolling clark spoons and planners. I'm sure people will be much more helpful but welcome to the site!

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
Usually a #1-#3 planers are what you'll need for most trolling just off the beach.
You won't need a down rigger unless you want to troll with 5 or more lines in the water. I would imagine with a 20' you will probably stay around 3-4 lines in.
Usually when I troll for mackerel (king and Spanish) I will have a line directly behind the boat about 20-30' back, rig on the surface (flatline) then Ill have a couple with #2 planers one on a downrigger and a couple on #1 or #3 depending what depth the fish are at.
I use clark spoons but more often than not I'll use cigar minnows.
Best thing to get started is to take the NC boater course online, make sure your boat has all CG required stuff (is a little more than a lake), get a SeaTow or Boat tow US membership and get out there and see what catches fish and what doesn't.