NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to NC and also new to Kayak fishing. I was wondering where might be a good place to go and fish and also where there might be a good kayak store. Thanks for your time and help.

·
Registered
2,766 Posts
I think Wellcraft Dave might could fill you in on a couple of ponds on the Army base. The Lumber River, Waccamaw River, N.E. Cape Fear River, and Black River are all to your south and south east. They would be on my Short List for weekend excursions from Pope AFB. There is a steam along the north boundry of the base that should have some nice cats in it. I can't tell you much about the Cape Fear just to the east other than it has some large cats in it. Flatheads are in it in large numbers. The other streams I listed are all blackwater rivers and most have some pretty nice sandbars to enjoy. AL

·
Registered
341 Posts
Big Osh,

There is a great fishing spot on base near Simmons Air Base. The pond is named Texas Pond and is very fishy looking. There is an access point where you can put in a kayak just to the right hand side of the dam.

You are very near the Little River where there can be some good fishing. If you put a boat in, be careful of the area around the waste treatment plant at Pope Field.

As for kayak dealers, I tend to go to REI or Great Outdoor Provision company. There are, doubtless, retailers around Fayetteville.

·
Registered
884 Posts
Welcome to the state and to the sport. I think you'll like both a lot. Where do you live? I am back and forth between Greenville and Wilmington. I prefer to do my fishing in Wilmington around the Fort Fisher area. The reds are there year round.

I work at an outdoor store (who will remain nameless until I ask NCAngler about his guidelines on that sort of thing) where I outfit kayaks for fishing.

·
Registered
3,834 Posts
Osh,