NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all ,

Glad to say we did much better than last weekend when that horrible wind kicked our butts. Got on the drum real good early this morning in NR. They were taking topwater, mirros and spoons (thanks Allen for that tip!)

Hundreds of slot fish cruising the flats busting on bait. Actually got about ten drum in the boat while I lost another handful at the boat, it was one of those quick release days for me- I'm a pro at the quick release by the way.

Caught my personal best drum at 26 1/2 and it was a fat fat drum I'll tell you! My brother kept his best at around 24". Mirro lure and spoon brought our biggest drum. Some of those schools the spoons were catching every single cast it was a blast! Also got a jack and two nice trout somewhere in 23" or so range, brother measured em and I can't remember... Then at about 830-9 all the action stopped dead... Drum were still chasing, but not much surface blowups any more and they weren't interested in our artificials...

We had done well enough by then that once the heat set in we headed up river for some gar... Sorry "game" fishermen, even when I'm smokin the drum i still love to put a couple Dino's in the boat..

All in all great day, and as Allen said when he called me earlier, if you can't catch fish today- something's wrong with you!!

Saw 3 different gators today, I'm seeing a lot every time I've been out... In the last few years I never saw them so frequently. One of em had to be 8-10ft by the size of his monster head! - and then a **** wakeboarder rode by and I hoped for the best! Haha.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
1 and 2 are same fish

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·