NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys—I am headed to the lake and campground next weekend for four days (Sunday through Wednesday). Was there March 2020 for a few days, and have been wanting to go back. Hoping that someone can give me a fairly recent fishing report, or any tips/suggestions for fishing the lake.

Last time I was there the wind was howling and the lake was so rough I never launched my yak—so I have zero fishing experience on this lake. This time I am taking my 16 foot Privateer Bay Skiff so I can get around on this huge body of water. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
One last request before I leave for Phelps on Sunday—please, ANY info will be appreciated!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hey Chris,
I've only been to Phelps once and it was in June. The wind wasn't so bad when we launched at the state park and it was beautiful on the opposite shore, down from Conman's. Had really good luck throwing unweighted senkos into the grass. Hopped out a couple of times and walked the shoreline and got into the bushes some. We caught a handful of really nice bass. Thankfully we didn't see any snakes.
Crossing the lake and taking out was a nightmare. The wind had picked up considerably. My son and I exchanged some harsh words trying to get him off the boat so he could get the truck and trailer. All was forgiven when we finally got the boat on the trailer and drained the bilge. I hope you had a great weekend.

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·