NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I finally got on some big schools of perch yesterday at Norman, but you had to wade through a bunch of small ones to finally hook up with the 10" - 12" fish. I am an avid bass fisherman, but wanted to try this just because, so I have no real knowledge when it comes to targeting these fish. My question is this, do the bigger fish tend to be at the top of the school, in the middle or on the bottom? 90% of my fish came off the bottom, couldn't get a consistent bite on top or in the middle. 45' - 52' fow using a 1/2oz blade......

Gotta love Norman for variety, spots, crappie and catfish (up to 15lbs) mixed in with the perch.....

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,233 Posts
In my experience, and in talking with others, the bigger ones usually hang out under the fray to catch the wounded bait drifting down. Post spawn schools seem to be different than that, though. It seems to be more common to see the larger fish controlling the schools after they spawn.

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
Here is a link to a study done here in NC on them:
http://repository.lib.ncsu.edu/ir/bitstream/1840.16/7538/1/etd.pdf

This is a little bit of an oversimplification, but if WP are abundant, big ones are rare. If you look at the graphs of the shock sampling results in the study, in 2 of the 4 lakes they got almost no fish over 8" (200mm in the chart). At the other 2 lakes, they did get larger ones but if you read the text it is noted that they got a lot fewer fish. They reproduce almost too well to be able to manage them as a game fish. The WRC changed the regs this last year to start allowing you to keep WP even if you net them. I target them at Harris sometimes and I have caught a few large ones and a lot more small ones. The bigger ones have come fishing deep, but still mixed with small ones.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·