NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fishing and I'm trying to get a solid lock on large mouth fishing in both rivers and lakes. I've looked all around online and on youtube and there are a million solutions to a million questions that go in the opposite direction than my own. My curiosity is, what are some solid, proven lures that are effective on the river and some that are effective at a lake.

I've read everywhere that bass like to be picky, and there are certain lures for certain times of day. You have to fish colors based on the bait fish, and so on and so on. I hope to pick all that up with time, but just starting out to avoid all the technicalities, what can I use, generally any day of the year, all day?

I have my own array that I've kinda plucked out of the shelves. I have a dark spinner bait with willow blades, two light spinner baits. I've got a few swim baits, a chatter bait, a buzzbait and of course an array of plastic worms, everything from dark to light.

But any idiot with some money can fill his tackle box with a bunch of lures, I want to be the guy that knows how and when to use them. So any pointers would be nice, any solid lures that you would enjoy using are also helpful.

·
Registered
4,537 Posts
Welcome to the site. I will give you a list of my favorites. For soft plastics, Zoom's Ultravibe speedcraw, Ole Monster worm, Mag finesse worm, and Trick worm are excellent. Yamamoto Senko, and cut tail worms. For crank baits I like Bomber fat free shads, for jerk baits in cooler weather I like the Smithwick Rattlin Rogue, or Lucky Craft Pointers. Spinner baits you can't go wrong with Strike King baits.

·
Registered
644 Posts