NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Banned
2,062 Posts
Don't know about that but the ol rattletrap was a bad man on them this werkend
I have trouble with the rattletrap in shallow water of, say, 3' and less. It gets snagged on the bottom. The reds do hammer these lures big time attack style. I dont know if it annoys them or they want eat it. Are you able to fish it in shallow water?
Thanks

·
Registered
11 Posts
Wow, didn't know the ol' rattletrap worked in salt like it does in fresh water. I'm new to salt so that's good to know, I'll have to try them. I have some blue/silver rapala rattle traps. What other colors would you try in stained water? Oak Island and Southport, NC seems to always have stained water. It always has a copper color around the islands, creeks and ICW, I guess cause of the Cape Fear that flows into Southport.

·
Banned
2,062 Posts
IMO the color matters not at all but that's a different issue. I'm certainly no expert but the rat-l-trap makes so much noise and vibrates intensely and my guess would be that those two induce strikes. Going to try one today. I'll likely have to purchase another tomorrow 😁

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk

·
Red X Angler
8,988 Posts
Some lures are timeless in their fish catching ability. Spoons, Rattletraps (and I love the floating ones), Rapala's....all will catch fish in Salt or Fresh water.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
I have used the gold Johnson Silver Minnow spoon with good success. But, I had a salesman at Eastern Outfitter in Hampstead sell me a Johnson Sprite gold spoon. (I think that's correct). Unlike the original Johnson, this one has 1 treble hook hanging off the back. Needless to say the hookups are near 100%. It doesn't cast quite as far and it has a little different roll/wobble to it. No problem with the line twisting or anything else. Reds just nail it, along with croakers.

·
Banned
2,062 Posts