NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 109 Posts

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, the saga continues.

The weather was nice. I received my tach cable. So I installed it. No problem. It started rough. Then smoothed out after a bit. Then on to another try at getting the idle down.

Then when starting it the starter decided to grind. Further inspection found one screw stripped and another mount broken. WTF. Of course, these are both on the block.

There is a 55 like mine on Craig's list. It supposedly needs a tuneup and a fuel pump.

Any thoughts on building one from two???

mikeski

·
Red X Angler
11,444 Posts
Sorry to hear of your troubles.

If the one needing a tune-up has good compression on both cylinders it is differently doable. I am a novice at best but if you can get the Craigs list cheap enough I would not hesitate to tackle the job if it were mine. It may not be something that would pay in the long run if you had to pay boat shop labor rates. Sundrop will probably be along shortly with better info.

Darrell

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Compression is suppose to be good and I am mechanically enclined enough to do it. And they are the same year period. S my good parts will move over. And then there are the other spare parts that will be left over. The price is right also.

There is the issue of the age being early 70's.

I think about a 4 stroke at times as an update. But I am not ready to drop those bucks at the moment.

Mikeski

·
Red X Angler
13,664 Posts
I'd like to see a pic of the broken mount. There are ways to fabricate metal reaching to other bolts in some cases that can save what you have. As far as a used motor. Compression tells the story. Carbs and fuel systems are easy ( as you know) but low compression means an overhaul.

·
Red X Angler
13,664 Posts
that's why I bought another one too. I have lots of parts now. 4 strokes are not home repair "friendly" like 2 strokes are nor do they have the longevity.