NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused:I need a little help with fishing with jigs. I have caught a 7# bass on a jig but really did not even feel it to much. Luck I guess. I have caught a few but nothing like others I have talked to. I put different trailers on them and have many different colors and sizes. I have been told to just watch the line but sometimes it is a little windy. Any help would be great. You all have been so awesome with any tip I have ever needed to know! Good Luck out there!:confused:

·
Registered
33 Posts
im still learning new things about jigs. really started using them 2 yrs ago. key thing match the hatch. what are the fish eating and try to use similar colors. many styles of heads to for different types of cover. ive even been tying my own hair jigs and they do pretty good. theres a ton of articiles out there in cyber space. you got to watch your line closley. i couldnt tell you how many times ive never felt a bump just saw the line moving. good luck.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I really only fish lakes and use anything from 10 to 15# mono. Fluroclear to be exact. I have many kind of jigs and many colors. I have 3/8oz. to a 1/2 oz. FOotball jigheads . i have quite a few! The tackle monkey has gone a little crazy from time to time. any help would be great

·
Registered
35 Posts
I Fish Bass Jigs Alot And Only When Im Flippin Them ,very Little Line Out , Most Fish I Catch Are As The Jig Is Fallin And It Doesnt Hit The Bottom , Its An Art Kinda, An Im Not A Pro But The Less Line You Have Out The Better Control An Feel ,they Bite On The Fall Of The Jig , If You Think It Dont Feel Like The Cast Before Jerk, Great Way To Catch Larger Bass , Flip Alot An Cover Alot Of Water

·
Registered
15,708 Posts
I would like to recomend braid "Power Pro" this will add more sensitivity to your outfit. Tie straight to the line no need for any thing else.