NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gooooood Morning, I'm new to this site and thought I'd check it out and try and get more involved as I'm eager to learn and getting the itch this year waiting for conditions to get better for fishing. Being new I might not be browsing the site correctly but I think it would be helpful to have some sort of forum that gives more detailed info on places that people fish around the Raleigh area and what type of setups they've had the most 1st person success with. I'm relatively new to fishing and understand people don't always like to "give up the goods" but people could share as much or as little as they'd like. I think it would be a good spot for people to learn from and sometimes YouTube videos aren't always specific to my area or conditions. Does anyone know if this already exists? I'd be happy to start one in a different area to get the ball rolling as well, example below:

Lake: Umstead upper and lower lake
Favorite Rig(s): Texas-rigged ~4" lizard on 3/o hook with 1/16oz - 1/8" non-pegged tungsten bullet weight with 1 clear glass bead
Color Preferences: Green pumpkin with red flake
Sizes Caught: I've caught lots of 1-3 pounders with this setup and a couple maybe closer to 4
Presentation: I typically fish from banks here around anything downed in the water or on points, I've had a lot of success with medium speed hopping mixed with occasional steady retrieve in. Most success with this bank fishing around spawn time and in summer when fish are closer to the banks.

**For bigger fish: I've been with some friends who are big fans of lipless crank baits, best success with chartreuse and orange/red. I get more numbers with my setup above but he's hauled in a couple big guys probably closer to 6-8lb range. Presentation has been burning it back with couple pauses every couple reels or so.

·
Premium Member
236 Posts