NC Angler Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I was just recently introduced to fishing by a buddy of mine. He even let me borrow an old rod he had that he wasn't using at the time so that i could get my casting practice in. I was just wondering though what a good rod & reel would be for someone who is just starting. I fished a small pond or lake when he took me and the rod he let me borrow was a light action. I was wondering if i should invest in a medium action rod or keep it light. The place we went had mostly crappie, sunfish and i believe bullhead cat. Any info would be greatly appreciated, and i do mean any info im new to the whole fishing thing and i could use it all.

Thx

Noob

·
Registered
17,131 Posts
Welcome aboard.

That light action rod is great for pan fish (crappie, sunfish, blue gills) and even small bass. Might need one with a bit more strength for those cats.

·
Registered
5,798 Posts
"good rod and reel" will get you a big range of answers from different fishermen.
For a first rod go medium for more versatility up and down. Unless you`re rich just start out with a spinning combo from Wallyworld or anywhere with a combo about 30 bucks. Diawa and Mitchell have some good ones in that range. Chances are you`ll end up with more specialized and more expensive ones later. Just my .02
Use the search function up top. There is a wealth of info from previous posts.
Don`t forget the best rod/reel isn`t much good with crappy line and hooks on it.
Welcome to NCangler !

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
Lots of decent cheap combos out there. I've got a couple of them from wal mart that aren't the best but they do the job. Also keep an eye on cabelas.com and basspro.com as they will sometimes run exceptional deals on items that they are closing out. I like the medium action rods as stu said just for the different things you can do with them.

Welcome to fishing and ncangler.

·
Registered
10,895 Posts