NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy.
I'm looking around right now at these forums and have to admit. I'm pretty new to all of this.

My name is Dan and I've got a problem. I've been introduced to fishing and I like it.

Matter of fact, my wife and I have started taking outings every Saturday morning to enjoy it.

Just got a new fishing rod and reel for my birthday. It's not one of your high dollar jobs which is designed to scare the fish into your cooler but it sure is shiny and nice looking. The action is really smooth as well.

I fish using those North Carolina Night Crawlers. You know the ones. It seems like you are wrapping a snake around the end of your hook.

To date (only been fishing for about 3 weeks now), I've caught one crappie, two turtles (meaner than heck) and a catfish. Boy them catfish sure are UGLY!

I did have a fishing experience once when I was a young lad. It seems that a friend of mine talked me into skipping school one day and going fishing.

Well, I caught me a catfish that day. My friend told me the only way to kill this here catfish was to pick up a pretty solid rock and beat him to death.

I beat and beat on that catfish but he didn't seem to want to die. I told myself anything that tough deserved to live. I tossed him back.

Hope to hear some good tips. I figure it doesn't matter what I catch. As long as what I catch puts up a good fight. I've seen some people fighting pretty good with sticks and logs.

Later!

Dan

·
Registered
840 Posts
Welcome Dan.

I myself am fairly new to these here forums. I'll tell you, from what I've seen so far, you are in very good company. I've been spending most of first week here cruising through some of the old posts and things and I must say that there is a LOT of information here irregardless of what kind of fishing you plan on doing.

If you have a question, don't hesitate to leave it here. I've no doubt that someone will reply, and promptly.