NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all. I just found this site and look forward to spending time on here. Let me start off by saying that I am not new to fishing, but I am new to fishing down here. I am from Massachusetts and have been here for 6 years and finally got back into doing a lot of fishing. A few weeks ago I bought a 16' Tracker and have been to Falls Lake twice and Lake Wheeler once. I have not had great luck at Falls and not much better luck at Wheeler. I'm mainly interested in Bass and Cat's. Anyway, looking forward to chatting. - Home Wood

·
Registered
17,131 Posts
Hey Home Wood - welcome to NC Angler. I'm a native of NC but fish mainly on the coast so I can't help you much. I did spend 6 years up in Mass. back in the 90's - did a bunch of bass fishing in some of the small lakes up there so I know what you mean about finding a lily pad and holding on.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Sadly, I have never been salt water fishing and I would love to try it down here sometime. I'd like to get some guys together at work and do a charter. Good way to try for a first timer I would think. Thanks for the friendly welcome :D

·
Registered
249 Posts
Hey Home Wood. All right, a fellow New Englander! I am from Maine.

We have similar stories, I have been living in the great state of NC for about 4 years now and have just recently picked up fishing again. My only advice to you about Falls Lake is what others tell me, take a Wednesday off from work and go then :) Falls gets some serious fishing pressure on the weekend and that can lead to slooooow days until you become more familiar with the lake.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·