NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New guy here. Formerly on a different web-site but have severed all ties there. I live in the Swansboro area and fish the salt for specks, reds and flounder. Have a 2005 18' Kenner Bay boat with a 90 Merc.

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
Welcome to the boards. Hope you enjoy your time here better then the last site. Look forward to hearing the reports.

·
Red X Angler
16,054 Posts
Welcome...I know you Speck'ters are a comitted...or commitable crowd..LOL So you'll love it here!!

·
Registered
5,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the welcome. Pretty windy this weekend and gonna get worse. Some reds but hard to spot due to the wind. Specks still around and flounder are starting to move in the inlets. Spanish and blues are prevalent at the inlets and nearshore.

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts
Hey speckhunter80 - I'm still very new to inshore saltwater fishing. When you say "hard to spot", are you referring to being able to see redfish tailing in the shallows or is there something else you are "spot"-ing? Schools in the water? individual fish? by their color or something else?

I was at the coast about 3 weeks ago. Never saw a red that I could target intentionally. I did manage to catch several and did spook a couple while paddling around, but I never saw them first. Not sure if its a seasonal/temp thing that makes them visible or if I just don't know what I'm looking for.

Appreciate any input you (or others) can share - thanks!!

·
Registered
17,131 Posts
Hey Speckhunter! Glad to see you made it over here! (I noticed you were gone from the other place). I think you will find this a very friendly place to be.

Folks - Speckhunter is one heck of an inshore angler - be sure to pick his brain good!

·
Registered
5,114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks TA, I get lucky on occasion.

Jeff,