NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

My name is Chris and I live in Greenville. I'm fairly new to the area and am excited about learning the area and how to fish it. I was raised in Oklahoma and spent a lot of my time catfishing on the Arkansas river. There was a lot of crappie fishing and largemouth fishing in the local lakes and ponds.

Yeah I have a ton of questions and I guess I'll just get started.

1. I'm a hop skip and jump from the Tar River, but people tell me that I shouldn't eat the fish that I catch. Too many toxins. Is there any truth to this?

2. I have some limited saltwater experience and can't wait to get on the coast to try my hand on that. What are some of the better areas and what do I fish for? Any suggestions are always welcome. LOL, I dont even know what to use for bait. That should give you an idea of how green I am.

3. I've never been deepwater fishing. Are there good charters and are there ones that I should avoid?

4. How do the fresh water seasons run here? Back home we would fish certain species at certain times of the year, ie, catfish early spring during spawn and then in the dead of winter. Crappie in the latter part of spring and then early fall. Largemouth early spring to late summer.

5. Back to the saltwater stuff (the boss like the coast a lot and that will be where I get to indugle the most often. As long as she's happy, I'm happy.). I know that high and low tides are important. Is there a better time to fish the bays (brackish water?) or is it just luck?

See...I've only scratched the surface here. I really want to learn as much as I can so help me out y'all.

Chris

·
Premium Member
8,195 Posts