NC Angler Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well first i`d like to say i am new at the kyack scene and new at fishin in a kyack - todAY I FELL IN THE WATER GETTING IN THE YAK AND FELL IN THE WATER GETTIN OUT THANK GOODNESS NO ONE SAW ME - HAS ANYONE HAD THE SAME TROUBLE - I KNOW WITH A SIT ON TOP IT WOULD HAVE BEEN WORSE - DON`T KNOW HOW YOU GUY`S SIT ON TOP - AND I DON`T KNOW WHY THEY MAKE A BACK STORAGE - WHEN I`M OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF A 20 FT. DEEP LAKE THERE IS NOOOO WAY!! I`M GONNA REACH AROUND AND UNDO THAT HATCH !!

·
Premium Member
7,911 Posts
I think the sit-on-top's are easier to get in and out of at the shore. Seats are higher (less distance for your bottom to travel) and you don't have to tuck legs into the cockpit.

As for the rear storage, my only advice is to pack light and get good at reaching behind and fumbling around without looking. Each year it seems to get a little farther away back there.

·
Registered
869 Posts
well first i`d like to say i am new at the kyack scene and new at fishin in a kyack - todAY I FELL IN THE WATER GETTING IN THE YAK AND FELL IN THE WATER GETTIN OUT THANK GOODNESS NO ONE SAW ME - HAS ANYONE HAD THE SAME TROUBLE - I KNOW WITH A SIT ON TOP IT WOULD HAVE BEEN WORSE - DON`T KNOW HOW YOU GUY`S SIT ON TOP - AND I DON`T KNOW WHY THEY MAKE A BACK STORAGE - WHEN I`M OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF A 20 FT. DEEP LAKE THERE IS NOOOO WAY!! I`M GONNA REACH AROUND AND UNDO THAT HATCH !!
You are officially a kayaker now. SOTs are not any more difficult that sit in or canoe but if you think you are never gonna get wet you are in the wrong business. Put on your swim trunks and get out there a couple of times and you will get it figured out one way or the other. Just like learning to ride a bike except you should have on your life jacket. Also a good time to learn how to get back in your yak if you tip in deep water. UTube might help.

Good luck. Hope the learning curve is a short ride to the top.

·